

Plant-Insect Ecosystems Section APRIL 2022 NEWSLETTER

In this issue...

P-IE Awards now open	
Biological control field tour	
P-IE committee member updates and thank you	2
Submit a spotlight	2

P-IE Governing Council

Rebecca Schmidt-Jeffris President, rebecca.schmidt@usda.gov

Surendra Dara Vice President, surendra.dara@oregonstate.edu

Cesar Rodriguez-Saona Vice-President Elect, crodriguez@njaes.rutgers.edu

Anjel Helms Secretary, anjel.helms@gmail.com

Lina Bernaola Treasurer, linabernaola@gmail.com

David Onstad Past president, dwonstad@gmail.com

Melissa Willrich Siebert ESA Governing Board Representative, melissa.siebert@corteva.com

Michelle Boone Student Representative, boon0086@umn.edu

Nicole Quinn Early-Career Professional Representative, <u>nfquinn@umass.edu</u>



Follow us **@PIE_Entsoc**

REMINDER: P-IE Awards now open!

We would also like to remind our P-IE members about the upcoming awards deadlines! P-IE offers several awards in a variety of categories to recognize outstanding achievements by students and professions. If you would like to recognize a student or colleague, please nominate them for one of these awards. The deadline for all awards this year is June 1, 2022.

Undergraduate Award

Undergraduate Student Achievement in Entomology
Award

Graduate Awards

- Kenneth and Barbara Starks Plant Resistance to Insects Graduate Student Award
- Master's Student Achievement in Entomology Award

Professional Awards

- Integrated Pest Management Team Award
- Lifetime Achievement Award in Entomology
- Recognition Award in Entomology

If you are interested in nominating a fellow P-IE member, please visit <u>https://www.entsoc.org/membership/sections/pie/awards</u> to learn more about the nomination requirements and evaluation criteria.

Biological Control Field Tour

The P-IE field tour, "Biological Control in Agroecosystems" based out of Wenatchee, WA is scheduled for May 8-10, 2022. The tour will focus on biological control in perennial crops (tree fruit and grapes) and will include demonstrations of predator releases by drone, floral plantings, and classical biocontrol releases. Attendees will include commodity stakeholders, biocontrol practitioners, biocontrol agent producers, and ESA members. Stay tuned to hear more about the tour in upcoming newsletters!

Thank you to new committee members!

P-IE would like to welcome our newest committee volunteers! A heartfelt thank you to everyone who provided nominations or volunteered for committee service with our section. Please stay tuned for more upcoming opportunities to get involved with P-IE.

Current P-IE Nominations Committee members:

P-IE selects one representative from each branch to serve on the committee for a two-year term. The nominations committee helps recruit P-IE members for elections and committee service. (Newest members are highlighted in blue.)

Surendra Dara, Chair, P-IE Governing Council (2022) **Apurba Barman, Pacific Branch (2022-2024) Tanya Dapkey, Eastern Branch (2022-2024)** Maya Evenden, International Branch, (2021-2023) **Ashleigh Faris, Southwestern Branch (2022-2024)** Katelyn Kesheimer, Southeastern Branch (2020-2022) Jamie Strange, North Central Branch (2021-2023)

Current Awards Committee members:

P-IE recently expanded the awards committee to include six members, with two representatives for each of three categories, serving two-year terms. The awards committee reviews applications for our section's awards each year. For more on the upcoming P-IE awards, please see the Awards Section below. (Newest members are highlighted in blue.)

Government

Academia

Industry

Justin George (2022-2024) Rick Hellmich (2021-2022) Swayamjit Ray (2022-2024) Karly Regan (2021-2022) Carlos Bogran (2022-2024) Anh Tran (2021-2022)

