Entomological Society of America

Minutes of the Governing Board Meeting Conference Call November 17, 2016

Participants

Susan Weller, President
Michael Parrella, Vice President
May Berenbaum, Past President
Michelle Smith, Treasurer
Gary Brewer, North Central Branch Representative
David Ragsdale, Southwestern Branch Representative
Livy Williams, International Branch Representative
Paula Shrewsbury, Eastern Branch Representative
Douglas Walsh, Pacific Branch Representative
Sujaya Rao, Plant-Insect Ecosystems Section Representative
Christopher Geden, Medical, Urban & Veterinary Entomology Section Representative
Lina Bernaola, Student Representative to the Governing Board

Staff

C. David Gammel, Executive Director Rosina Romano, Director of Meetings Debi Sutton, Director of Membership and Marketing Neil Willoughby, Director of Finance Lisa Junker, Director of Publications Chris Stelzig, Director of Strategic Initiatives Nikki Olin, Executive Assistant

Not in Attendance

Bob Peterson, Vice President-Elect Timothy Schowalter, Southeastern Branch Representative John Oswald, Systematics, Evolution & Biodiversity Section Representative Carol Anelli, Physiology, Biochemistry & Toxicology Section Representative

- 1. <u>Executive Session</u> The Governing Board entered executive session at 1:27pm for Executive Director and staff compensation review.
- 2. <u>Welcome and Agenda Review</u> President Susan Weller reconvened the meeting at 1:45pm. The agenda was reviewed and left unchanged.
- 3. <u>Governing Board September Minutes</u> A motion to approve the September 2016 meeting minutes was passed.
- 4. <u>Emeritus Request</u>— A motion to approve the Emeritus requests for Dr. John C. Reese, Dr. Charles E. Mason, Dr. Roger D. Moon, Dr. Philip S. McNally, Dr. James E. Sargent, and Mr. Robert A. Phillips was passed.
- 5. **ESA Publications Update** Lisa Junker, Director of Publications & Communications, spoke with the Board regarding policies and reappointments currently necessary.

- a. Board Policy Regarding American Entomologist Editor-in-Chief: The American Entomologist Editorial Board is about to undertake a search for the next editor-in-chief of *American Entomologist*. As such, the editorial board would like to ask the Governing Board for guidance on whether the 2000 policy prohibiting individuals currently serving as ESA vice president elect, vice president, president, or past president from also serving as editor-in-chief of American Entomologist is still in effect. The Board agreed that the policy has worked over the years and would like to continue to keep in place.
- b. Environmental Entomology Editor-in-Chief Re-Appointment: Dr. Alan Cameron was originally appointed as editor-in-chief of *Environmental Entomology* on Oct. 10, 2001. He has since served three five-year terms as editor-in-chief. His latest term ends in November 2016. The Environmental Entomology Board met at ICE and had no concerns about re-appointing Dr. Cameron for another term.

<u>Suggested Motion:</u> Based on the recommendation of the Environmental Entomology Editorial Board, the ESA Governing Board approves the re-appointment of Dr. E. Alan Cameron to a term of five years as Editor-in-Chief of Environmental Entomology, effective as of Nov. 17, 2016. **Motion Passed.**

- 6. <u>Science Policy Committee Update</u> Chris Stelzig, Director of Strategic Initiatives, briefed the Board on the Committee. The main topics discussed:
 - **a.** Lewis Burke Associates (LBA) News Dr. Erin Cadwalader will assume the lead for ESA's LBA team, following the departure of Meghan McCabe from the firm. Dr. Cadwalader has been actively supporting ESA's science policy advocacy efforts since mid-2015. The SPC and staff will continue to work closely with the full LBA team on all federal outreach activities.
 - **b.** Tiered Agenda In the coming weeks, staff will provide details of ESA's draft tiered agenda to the full membership and seek their input. As was detailed to the GB in September, this agenda is a way for ESA to prioritize funding and other resources toward areas that are deemed to be of the highest priority. Topics will be ranked as Active, Engaged, and Watching, with the most attention paid to those on the Active list.
 - c. Science Policy Fellows The 2014 and 2015 cohorts of the SPF program just wrapped up their second trip of the year in Washington, DC, November 14-16. Suggested Motion: Move to appoint Jennifer Gordon as the MUVE representative to the ESA Science Policy Committee for a 3-year term. Motion Passed.
- 7. <u>Awards and Honors Committee</u> Executive Director David Gammel and Debi Sutton, Director of Membership and Marketing, gave a brief overview on the motion from the ESA Awards Committee for the creation of an Awards Review Task Force. The goals and mission of the proposed task force are:
 - 1. Review and evaluate each award and determine if that award is currently serving the needs of ESA members and provides what the ESA members want.
 - 2. Determine if the awards that are currently being offered are in line with current societal priorities.
 - 3. Make recommendations on discontinuing/combining awards that have low numbers of submissions.
 - 4. Review the requirements for each award and simplify the nomination process.
 - 5. Review the financial offerings for each award to determine any recommended changes.

6. Make recommendations on how to increase the number of nominations and increase the diversity of the nominations.

The recommended members of this task force include:

- 1. Silvia Rondon, Oregon State University -- Awards and Honors Committee Chair and Representative
- 2. Rob Morrison, USDA-ARS -- Diversity and Inclusion Committee Representative that is an Early Career Professional
- 3. Rob Wiedenmann, University of Arkansas -- Past President of ESA
- 4. Tim Schowalter, Louisiana State University -- Branch Representative with awards experience
- 5. Carol Anelli, The Ohio State University -- Governing Board Liaison and Chair
- 6. Cindy Myers -- ESA Staff Liaison (non-voting member)

<u>Suggested Motion</u>: Move to create a comprehensive Awards Review Task Force to review ESA awards with a term of three years, as recommended by the Awards and Honors Committee. **Motion Passed.**

- 8. **2016 Finance Update** Past Treasurer Mark Boetel, Current Treasurer Michelle Smith, and Finance Director Neil Willoughby, provided an update on the Society's financial performance. The Finance Committee met during the first week of November to review the draft 2017 budget. The committee motioned for approval of the budget as presented and passed unanimously.
 - Suggested Motion: Approve the 2017 Proposed Budget as presented. Motion Passed.
- 9. Entomological Foundation Board of Directors Update Past President May Berenbaum gave a brief overview of the recommended appointments to the Entomological Foundation Board of Directors. Three vacancies existed on the EF BOD following the conclusion of the September ESA Annual Meeting with the retirement of Mark Boetel, Tom Green, and Frank Zalom from the board. The board discussed the coming vacancies during the September meeting and ESA's new Treasurer, Michelle Smith (BCE), will fill the Treasurer slot on the BOD. For the remaining two slots, John Acorn and Rebecca Baldwin were selected for the open appointments.

 Suggested Motion: Move to immediately appoint John Acorn and Rebecca Baldwin to the Entomological Foundation Board of Directors with a term of three years. Motion Passed.
- 10. <u>Consent Agenda</u> Weller started the review of the consent agenda that contained reports from the Branches, Sections, and Committees. The Board was asked if anything needed to be pulled out for discussion. Hearing none, a motion to approve the consent agenda was passed.
- 11. <u>Adjourn</u> With no further business to consider, the meeting adjourned at 2:50pm.