# **ENTOMOLOGICAL SOCIETY OF AMERICA**

# Governing Board Meeting Minutes April 18, 2011 Meeting by Conference Call

## **PARTICIPANTS**

Ernest Delfosse, President
Grayson Brown, Vice President
Robert Wiedenmann, Vice President-Elect
David Hogg, Past President
Ricardo Bessin, Treasurer
Douglas Pfeiffer, Eastern Branch Representative
Robert Peterson, Plant-Insect Ecosystems Section Representative
Melody Keena, Physiology, Biochemistry and Toxicology Section Representative
Tim Lysyk, Medical, Urban and Veterinary Entomology Section Representative
Susan Weller, North Central Branch Representative
Nancy Hinkle, Southeastern Branch Representative
Myron Zalucki, International Branch Representative
Bart Drees, Southwestern Branch Representative
John Heraty, Systematics, Evolution and Biodiversity Section Representative
Michael Parrella, Pacific Branch Representative

### **ABSENT:**

Wendy Johnson, Student Representative

### Staff:

C. David Gammel, Executive Director

- 1. <u>Call to Order</u> -- The meeting was called to order at 2:10 p.m. by President Ernest Delfosse, who welcomed participants. The agenda was approved unanimously.
- 2. <u>Ratification of Cybermotion</u> The following cybermotions were ratified unanimously:

**Cybermotion**: Approve the amended minutes of the December 2010 meeting of the Governing Board.

Yes- 14; No - 1; Abstain- 0; Not Voting-1; Motion passes

**Cybermotion 2:** Approve the submitted list of common names from the Committee on Common Names.

Yes- 14; No - 0; Abstain- 1; Not Voting- 1; Motion passes

- 3. <u>Executive Committee Actions</u> Del Delfosse reported there were no Executive Committee actions.
- 4. <u>Hot Topics</u>: Del Delfosse presented updates on several hot topics about ESA. These included announcing the winner of the Founder's Memorial Award (Angela Douglas), participation of Sharon Quisenberry in the Annual Meeting opening plenary on behalf of the ESA Foundation, David Gammel's attendance at the upcoming meeting of the Korean Society for Applied Entomology, Gene Reagan's progress as ESA's subject matter expert representative to the EPA, and Rob Wiedenmann braving the cold conditions in Los Angeles to congratulate May Berenbaum on behalf of ESA for being awarded the Tyler Environmental Prize.
- 5. <u>Proposed ESA/Non-ESA Function Changes</u>: David Gammel presented recommended policies for ESA and non-ESA request for functions and scientific sessions to be held during ESA's Annual Meeting. After discussion, the policy was amended to apply to all future Annual Meetings and to allow organizers to pay and arrange for food and beverage for submitted ESA scientific sessions if they wished to do so.

*Motion:* To accept the attached proposal as policy for ESA and Non-ESA requests for functions and scientific sessions to be held during ESA's Annual Meeting.

Acceptance of the amended policy was moved and seconded and passed unanimously.

Yes- 14; No - 0; Abstain- 1; Motion passes

6. <u>Pending Emeritus Members</u>: David Gammel reported on pending requests for emeritus membership status.

*Motion:* To approve the following individuals for ESA Emeritus Membership status:

FULL NAME	CITY	STATE COUNTRY	JOIN DATE
Mr. James T. Brice, BCE retired	Laurel	MT	1974
Dr. Alan V. Barak	Sandwich	MA	1978
Mr. Gregory B. Cronholm, BCE	Plainview	TX	1976
Dr. Robert A. Fusco, BCE	Mifflintown	PA	2002*
Dr. Robert C. Hedlund	Herndon	VA	1965
Dr. Gerald L. Jubb, Jr.	Sierra Vista	AZ	1966
Dr. Marc J. Klowden	Moscow	ID	1972
Dr. Gary R. Mullen	Auburn	AL	1969

<sup>\*</sup>Dr. Fusco was a member in earlier years as well, but this is the most recent join date in his database record.

It was moved and seconded to approve the list of proposed emeritus members, which then passed unanimously.

- 7. <u>Brief Update on Upcoming Strategy Retreat in June</u>: David Gammel provided an updated on plans for the Governing Board strategy retreat at the June meeting in Reno. The first day of the meeting will be dedicated to the strategy work and will be facilitated by consultant Jamie Notter. Additional background information and preparatory work for the retreat will be forthcoming over the next few weeks.
- 8. <u>Brief Annual Meeting Update</u>: Del Delfosse provided an update to the Governing Board on plans and progress for the upcoming 2011 Annual Meeting.
- 9. <u>Brief Japan Outreach Update</u>: Grayson Brown reported on his outreach efforts to the presidents of entomology societies in Japan, offering ESA's condolences and support as they recover from the earthquake and tsunami. Scientific facilities in eastern Japan are heavily damaged and may result in much lost research. The society presidents from Japan expressed their thanks to Brown and will let ESA know how the society may provide assistance to them once they have a better understanding of their needs.
- 10. Other Business: The following additional items were discussed.
  - a. <u>International Advisory Committee</u>: The Governing Board discussed the ongoing role of the International Advisory Committee in the society now that the International Branch is up and running. Governing Board members will review the report made by the committee in December 2010 on this subject.

- b. **2016 International Congress of Entomology**: Myron Zalucki discussed that proposed symposia for the 2016 Congress (if awarded to ESA) should have both a U.S. and a non-U.S. organizer in order to emphasize international participation and partnership. The International Advisory Committee is tasked with securing a travel grant to send U.S. students to the 2012 ICE in Korea.
- c. <u>Move Conference Call Later in the Day</u>: To better accommodate our Australian colleagues on the Governing Board, it was decided to move future conference calls to 4 p.m. Eastern Time.
- d. <u>Student and Young Professionals Award Committee</u>: Plans were discussed for appointing and facilitating the work of this committee so that the program can be implemented as planned for the 2011 Annual Meeting. John Heraty will remain as chair, President Delfosse, Susan Weller, and Wendy Johnson will also serve on the committee as additional Governing Board representatives to facilitate implementation of an awards process this fiscal year and make recommendations for subsequent years.
- 11. **Adjournment**. There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 3:15 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

C. David Gammel, CAE

**Executive Director**